Guest Reviews

At The Zen Hotel, we pride ourselves on offering the perfect blend of serenity, sustainability and service for your visit to the Palo Alto area. It’s what keeps our guests coming back again and again and why we’re different from the usual branded chain hotels in the area. If you’re considering a stay with us, please read the reviews below to find out what past guests have to say about their “Zen Experience.”

  • The Zen is now on my go-to places to stay in Palo Alto

    "I normally stay

    TRIPADVISOR REVIEW, January 2018
  • "The Zen Hotel"

    "Great hotel at a great price with a friendly staff and nice touches (bath robes, slippers, and free snacks). If you're looking for an affordable place to stay in Palo Alto, look no further than the Zen. You'll

    GOOGLE.COM REVIEW, January 2018
  • "Highly recommended, great value."

    "I was initially worried driving up because of the motel style layout but the worry quickly went away. Great service, nice rooms, super clean, great (free) breakfast for the hotel class with awesome fresh

    HOTELS.COM REVIEW, December 2017
  • "Home away from home!"

    “Great breakfast buffet with a lot of healthy options - fresh made juices, smoothies, yogurt parfaits, and rotation of the hot breakfast standards. Nice to have hot cookies in the late afternoon. The newly updated

    BOOKING.COM REVIEW, January 2018
  • The Zen is now on my go-to places to stay in Palo Alto

    "I normally stay at chain hotels when traveling to the area, but the Zen caught my eye this time when making reservations. The Zen is what I remember growing up as a roadside motel. However, the Zen has been updated inside and out to bring you a very pleasant and relaxing place to stay. Upon check-in, the staff was very welcoming and seemed genuinely glad I was staying there. The room was modest in size, but updated with nice features and spotless. Most importantly, the room was quiet and the bed was comfortable. Room snacks (free) were a really nice touch. Breakfast was fresh, healthy and delicious. Awesome green smoothies!"

    TRIPADVISOR REVIEW, January 2018
  • "The Zen Hotel"

    "Great hotel at a great price with a friendly staff and nice touches (bath robes, slippers, and free snacks). If you're looking for an affordable place to stay in Palo Alto, look no further than the Zen. You'll truly enjoy your stay."

    GOOGLE.COM REVIEW, January 2018
  • "Highly recommended, great value."

    "I was initially worried driving up because of the motel style layout but the worry quickly went away. Great service, nice rooms, super clean, great (free) breakfast for the hotel class with awesome fresh smoothies and good location close to the heart of Silicon Valley etc."

    HOTELS.COM REVIEW, December 2017
  • "Home away from home!"

    “Great breakfast buffet with a lot of healthy options - fresh made juices, smoothies, yogurt parfaits, and rotation of the hot breakfast standards. Nice to have hot cookies in the late afternoon. The newly updated gym was great. Very convenient location for Stanford visits. This was our third stay at Zen and it gets better each time.”

    BOOKING.COM REVIEW, January 2018