Guest Reviews

At The Zen Hotel, we pride ourselves on offering the perfect blend of serenity, sustainability and service for your visit to the Palo Alto area. It’s what keeps our guests coming back again and again and why we’re different from the usual branded chain hotels in the area. If you’re considering a stay with us, please read the reviews below to find out what past guests have to say about their “Zen Experience.”

  • “Small hotel service with big hotel amenities”

    "What a gem of

    TRIPADVISOR REVIEW, July 2017
  • "The Zen Hotel"

    "Excellent. You wouldn't think this place be so wonderful and the rooms so quiet after looking at its location or the street view on Google maps. The rooms were beautiful, the

    GOOGLE.COM REVIEW, July 2017
  • "Family Time at the Zen"

    "Given astronomical hotel prices in Palo Alto, the Zen was the only option for our family requiring three rooms. The Zen is a completely refurbished old style motel in the Southeast corner of Palo Alto. Accessible

    HOTELS.COM REVIEW, July 2017
  • "Zen & healthy respite"

    "Great breakfast buffet with a lot of healthy options - fresh made juices, smoothies, yogurt parfaits, and rotation of the hot breakfast standards. Nice to have hot cookies in the late afternoon. The newly updated

    BOOKING.COM REVIEW, July 2017
  • “Small hotel service with big hotel amenities”

    "What a gem of a hotel. First time staying here and was pleasantly surprised. The guest services agent - wish I'd remembered to get her name - was delightful. The room was spotless and quiet - a feat considering the hotel is right on the busy El Camino. Appreciated the complimentary snacks and bottled water and loved the L'Occitane toiletries! Big plus for me is that I didn't have to breathe an overpowering chemical smell that so many other hotels have. Don't know if it's cleaning agents or bed bug spraying, but it's hard to avoid. Terrific, quality breakfast, smoothies included! Nobody else does that. Being able to park my car right outside my door was convenient and provided an extra feeling of security that my car was okay. I found The Zen Hotel to be a great business hotel with the charm and feel of an inn. Very conveniently located. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone."

    TRIPADVISOR REVIEW, July 2017
  • "The Zen Hotel"

    "Excellent. You wouldn't think this place be so wonderful and the rooms so quiet after looking at its location or the street view on Google maps. The rooms were beautiful, the gym was quite well equipped, and the breakfast was the best complimentary food I've had at any hotel. We were pleasantly surprised!"

    GOOGLE.COM REVIEW, July 2017
  • "Family Time at the Zen"

    "Given astronomical hotel prices in Palo Alto, the Zen was the only option for our family requiring three rooms. The Zen is a completely refurbished old style motel in the Southeast corner of Palo Alto. Accessible to everything within minutes. HOtel appointments are first class. Outstanding sheets, pillows and towels. Beautiful bathroom fixtures. Amazing shower bead with full pressure and really hot,water. The breakfast blew us away. Morning smoothies in either green or raspberry were a highlight, but so were the steelcut oats with blueberries. Eggs, potatoes, and sausages were as tasty as cooked to order. Canteloupe tasted like it was farm picked. Service at the front desk was very welcoming and genuine. Not inexpensive by standards outside of Palo Alto ut a good value given the the location."

    HOTELS.COM REVIEW, July 2017
  • "Zen & healthy respite"

    "Great breakfast buffet with a lot of healthy options - fresh made juices, smoothies, yogurt parfaits, and rotation of the hot breakfast standards. Nice to have hot cookies in the late afternoon. The newly updated gym was great. Very convenient location for Stanford visits. This was our third stay at Zen and it gets better each time."

    BOOKING.COM REVIEW, July 2017