Guest Reviews

At The Zen Hotel, we pride ourselves on offering the perfect blend of serenity, sustainability and service for your visit to the Palo Alto area. It’s what keeps our guests coming back again and again and why we’re different from the usual branded chain hotels in the area. If you’re considering a stay with us, please read the reviews below to find out what past guests have to say about their “Zen Experience.”

  • The Zen is everything the name implies

    This hotel is everything I hoped it would be and more for the price. The staff were prompt, courteous, and generous with information. The room was clean...impeccably clean. The snacks in the room Girardhelli hot chocolate and fresh baked cookies for dessert for free. We had yogurt, fruit, and honey parfaits with homemade smoothies for breakfast for free. The parking and wifi were free...are you noticing a theme here? Do yourself a favor and relax with some hot tea or coffee on the balcony or patio as you get away from whatever brought you to the area.

    TRIPADVISOR REVIEW, FEBRUARY 2017
  • "Convenient location and very nice breakfast"

    I enjoyed my stay here. Our room for 2 was quiet, check-in was quick, and parking was easy. I liked staying in a single-storied unit-- no noise from above and I never heard any doors close from neighboring oj , banana, pineapple), Peet's coffee. Our party of 2 got our money's worth from breakfast.

    EXPEDIA.COM REVIEW, FEBRUARY 2017
  • "Good deal for the area"

    Probably the best complementary hotel breakfast I've ever had. Freshly made smoothies that change daily, as well as fluffy eggs and crisp bacon that didn't seem as if it had been sitting around forever. The

    BOOKING.COM REVIEW, FEBRUARY 2017
  • "The perfect boutique hotel in Palo Alto"

    Everyone at the Zen is so friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast is great, and they change things up daily. The bathroom products are very nice and I love the little welcome snack kit. This is my go to hotel

    HOTELS.COM REVIEW, FEBRUARY 2017
  • The Zen is everything the name implies

    This hotel is everything I hoped it would be and more for the price. The staff were prompt, courteous, and generous with information. The room was clean...impeccably clean. The snacks in the room were healthy (mostly) and free. The kids and husband had Girardhelli hot chocolate and fresh baked cookies for dessert for free. We had yogurt, fruit, and honey parfaits with homemade smoothies for breakfast for free. The parking and wifi were free...are you noticing a theme here? Do yourself a favor and relax with some hot tea or coffee on the balcony or patio as you get away from whatever brought you to the area.

    TRIPADVISOR REVIEW, FEBRUARY 2017
  • "Convenient location and very nice breakfast"

    I enjoyed my stay here. Our room for 2 was quiet, check-in was quick, and parking was easy. I liked staying in a single-storied unit-- no noise from above and I never heard any doors close from neighboring units. Breakfast was a cut above: fresh, plump blueberries and fresh pineapple to put atop oatmeal (cooked, not instant), sausage, fresh hash browns, green smoothies (kale, organic yogurt, oj, banana, pineapple), Peet's coffee. Our party of 2 got our money's worth from breakfast.

    EXPEDIA.COM REVIEW, FEBRUARY 2017
  • "Good deal for the area"

    Probably the best complementary hotel breakfast I've ever had. Freshly made smoothies that change daily, as well as fluffy eggs and crisp bacon that didn't seem as if it had been sitting around forever. The pastries were fresh and there were 3 different types of coffee to choose from. The hotel itself has been nicely updated - it is obviously one of those old 50's motels but the updates are tasteful and modern. They also left complimentary bottled water and snacks in the room, which was very appreciated, as well as many complementary L'Occitane bathroom products.

    BOOKING.COM REVIEW, FEBRUARY 2017
  • "The perfect boutique hotel in Palo Alto"

    Everyone at the Zen is so friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast is great, and they change things up daily. The bathroom products are very nice and I love the little welcome snack kit. This is my go to hotel in Palo Alto!!

    HOTELS.COM REVIEW, FEBRUARY 2017